Habakkuk 3:17-19 – ‘Though the fig tree should not blossom, And there be no fruit on the wines, Though the yield of the olive should fail, And the fields produce no food, Though the flock should be cut off from the fold, And there be no cattle in the stalls,

Yet I will exult in the Lord, I will rejoice in the God of my salvation.

The Lord God is my strength, And He has made my feet like hind’s feet, And makes me walk on my high places.’

This verse is always an encouragement to me that even when outward circumstances seems unpromising, I can continue to praise God, for he is faithful. He is always faithful.

Sometimes when we serve the Lord, we always look at the results. We always want to see if we are successful in our service, yet we are discouraged because outwardly, all seems bleak and it seems as if we have served in vain. But this verse reminds us of how we should serve. We should serve like Jeremiah, the weeping prophet, serving the Lord wholeheartedly, looking beyond the outward.

Similarly, when we pray, we pray and do not receive. When what we pray for seems to be contrary to the situations around us, we become discouraged by God’s silence. May this verse encourage us again to trust in God and continue to pray him despite our outward circumstances for God makes all things beautiful in His time.

Rejoice in the Lord, always!